puzzlehost.blogg.se

Unraid setup tips
Unraid setup tips













  1. #Unraid setup tips how to
  2. #Unraid setup tips install

#Unraid setup tips how to

Let's make a gaming VM! Spaceinvader One has great info: How to dual boot baremetal windows and unRAID then boot the same windows as a vm Good to know for next time!! If you don't, adding new disks takes hours. try wake on lan - yes! wakeonlan -i 192.168.6.255 aa:a1:61:23:01:ddĪ note, in the future I should preclear before adding disks - how to preclear your disks.I didn't see a way to prevent that, so I've disabled S3 Sleep for now. Much later, the array went to sleep while I was in a Windows VM.installed dynamix system stats, s3 sleep, system info, temp (including required nerdpack gui, use tdie).At the time they felt throwaway, but I think they were helpful. I didn't use the Unraid docs as much, or I don't remember them being as helpful, but regardless they're available: īased on those resources, I went through these steps.

#Unraid setup tips install

General Unraid Setup - How to setup and install the best plugins for unRAID (really, everything on YouTube from Spaceinvader One is super helpful).

unraid setup tips

  • (also detailed steps, used it for cpu pinning information, network info, among other setup) maybe more to read again later.
  • I enabled AMD-V, and IOMMC (did I mean IOMMU?) in my BIOS. To make the flash drive boot on my machine I had to rename the "EFI-" folder to "EFI" (I'll undo this later). Instructions and recommendations are in Unraid's docs. Weirdly (at least to me), Unraid boots off of a flash drive. Notably (foreshadowing!), I started with a ROG Strix B550-F and an old AMD graphics card. I had a mix of new and old hardware without clear Unraid support, but decided to forge on. Since this was an idea I had after upgrading the machine, I hadn't looked into Unraid support when choosing hardware. It wasn't all clear sailing, but I tried to record the steps I took and challenges I faced. The graphics card passthrough support with Unraid was much clearer, and I had friends that liked it, so I went with that. Virtualization software like Unraid or Proxmox would let me combine a gaming PC with some homelab server interests.

    unraid setup tips unraid setup tips

    I'd been interested in working on a homelab for a while, and when I accidentally bought a case that was way too large - a Fractal Design Define 7 - I began to think about expanding that machine instead of going to a rack. As part of my pandemic coping, I started upgrading a PC I'd had for a few years.















    Unraid setup tips